Medal System at Swish Dance Centre Explained

The medal system is a series of progressively more difficult dance tests that are examined by an independent examiner. Each level of Medal is progressively of a higher standard than the previous level. Medals must be taken in the order: Bronze, Bronze Bar, Silver, Silver Bar, Gold, Gold Star, Premier Star, Oscar, Annual Oscar and Mickey Powell 10 Dance Award. Rosettes for children under the age of 15 are available to students who wish to participate in practical dance tests. In each case one Rosette is awarded for each dance undertaken and the grade is either a pass or a fail and does not come with a written report.

Bronze Medal and Bronze Bar in each dance style comprises of 3 dances all performed in the same test. Silver medal and Silver Bar each have 4 dances in the same test. Gold Medal, Gold Star and Premier Star, Oscar and Annual Oscar are made up of 5 dances for each style and can be danced as single dance tests. For the Mickey Powell 10 Dance Award the candidate must dance 5 dances of each of two styles in the one session (10 dances in total). Partners for the test may be either a Professional or Amateur dancers enabling the examiner to watch only one of the participants in the dance. Dance Costumes are not to be worn for medal tests below Gold level but may be worn for dance medals from Gold upwards.

To explain the differences at each level we will need to explain in sections.

Firstly in New Vogue there is a ranked list of 42 dances published by the Australian Dancing Society (ADS) from which the teacher will select the dances. For Bronze Medal they must select 3 dances from the first 7 on the list, Bronze Bar must comprise of 3 different dances from the first 9 on the list. At the same time over these two medals a candidate cover dances of different timing (waltz, march, tango etc.). Silver Medal is 4 dances from number 8 to 15 from the list and Silver Bar is 4 different dances selected from dance 8 to dance 17, again with the “Silvers” covering the different timings. Gold Medal, Gold Star, Premier Star, Oscar and Annual Oscar are each of 5 dances selected progressively down the ADS list. As a candidate “The List” is exactly that, just a list of names, the teacher will always select dances that fit the criteria, are suitable for the student, are of the correct degree of difficulty and cover the widest range for the student to gain maximum skills in the dance style.

In Standard Ballroom and Latin American similar systems exist. Each of these styles has 4 possible dances for Bronze Medal, Bronze Bar, Silver Medal and Silver Bar with the addition of a more difficult dance from Gold Medal onward. For the “Bronzes” 3 dances must be covered in each test but the 4 basic dances must be covered over the two awards. For the “Silvers” all 4 of the dances must be danced. The Australian Dancing Society has again made ranking lists of specified figures for each dance and makes additional figures available at each medal level. The teacher must select figures from the correct area of the list and make a dance routine for the candidate that suits their ability and strengths.

The information that the examiner gives on the report is a great basis for the start of the next medal and should always be taken as constructive criticism and assistance for developing dance skills for the future. All dance tests except Rosettes are marked by the following scale:

Below 65% not to required Standard
65% – 74% Pass
75% – 84% Commended Pass
85% – 94% Highly Commended Pass
95% – 100% Honour

For Medal Class times click here

Contact us: 0423 862 420